Arrivals


Elvis is in the building.
Until June 20.

I wasn’t sure if she was going to get to pick us up so I managed my expectations. I just knew I was going to see her. Finally. It really didn’t matter when.
Then, right when my mom and I were lugging our “maletas” to door 2 to wait for our Tito Oni to come get us, I spotted her.
I could’ve sworn we shrieked and then ran to each other — in a kind of dramatic way.
But I didn’t give a shit.
My sister and I embraced in the middle of the Newark airport and cried.
Wait, no, we wept.
For a good ten minutes.
It didn’t matter that we were sniveling and leaving our belongings unattended. I was just so glad we were together again.
It’s so so so good to see and be with her.

Damn.
I am so happy to be here.

On to saying YES …

grateful slice: arriving and staying for awhile

Leave a Reply

