Freedom Friday

Took a real day off a few weeks ago and decided to spend it watching movies.  From “Time Traveler’s Wife” to “Hangover” and Pixar’s “UP,”  it was truly a day well spent.  Nothing like eating a spicy Jamaican Patty and drinking a Big Chill fruit shake while watching a flick in the theater.  I would not have spent that free Friday any other way.   I would have to say though, that “UP” really left an impression on me.

UP, UP and AWAY

UP, UP and AWAY

I loved the first 15 minutes of silent storytelling, can relate to wanting to keep a talking dog and found the bizarre looking, chocolate loving, colorful bird ironic.  I especially liked the idea of letting go of something you have been dragging along for a long time and unloading things you thought were important to finally create new adventures.  When Mr. Whatshisname started to unload the stuff from the house he was dragging around, to lighten the load, so he could fly upward to save Russell  — I totally dug that.  Then when he finally watched his house float away into oblivion,  I knew the movie was whapacking me in the face with some kind of moment of clarity.  There’s no space for the new, if I keep on lugging the old shit around.  That’s just the freaking truth.

suspension of disbelief moment

the ultimate suspension of disbelief

The next time I feel like wearing my own cone of shame, I can just think of Russell and Paradise Falls, and one old man’s fight to find new meaning in his life.

cone of shame (aka my whip)

cone of shame (aka my whip)

And he was only really able to do that when he opened his eyes, looked at what was in front of him and finally let go of his house.

grateful slice:  the clarity of metaphors

Leave a Reply

