Saved by the Swell

me, the sea and my books

me, the sea and my books: the big picture

Went to Anilao last weekend to get away from the city. I did not know I needed to do it until Cupcake Queen and Mordor called me a workaholic. To be called a workaholic in Beacon is not a good thing because everyone in this school works like a dog. So to be called out like that meant I was probably working too much, all the time, beyond what was Beacon-healthy. I guess, I do tend to get carried away with work. This is nothing new. Between preparing for my first workshop, being anal about the yearbook, my teaching preps, and homeroom, I have pretty much put everything aside and have gotten lost in my mind maps and to do lists and have, as usual, forgotten myself. Its all part of living with the perfectionist gene and the territorial whip. (Sheesh, what will happen when I take my second MA or my PhD? Eep.) Thank goodness for well-adjusted friends who remind us to think of our well-being, taking real breaks from the city and the big picture.

IMG_3714

Cupcake queen and I

With that, Cupcake Queen and I got up at the break of dawn and took a long and easy drive to Anilao (diving capital of Luzon) and met up with our new friend, Mordor, his wife and funny friend (Ringo).

It was a weekend of laughs, beers, untouched vodka, card games, checking papers and good food. More importantly, it was  about music, conversation, being near the sea, getting some sun and being kind to ourselves.

grateful slice: getting away from the city and meeting new peeps

traveling feet fetish

traveling feet fetish

view from our  day beds

view from our day beds

beach musts

beach musts

we didn't mind not diving

we didn't mind not diving

the best company

the best company

Ringo:  Creator of the one handed high five

Ringo: Creator of the one handed high five

Mordor's wifey, Jess

Mordor's wifey, Jess

laughter is the best boundary

laughter is the best boundary

cupcake queen with her camera

cupcake queen with her camera

light in the trees

light in the trees

kitchen confidential

kitchen confidential

movement

movement

remedy

urban OD remedy

Leave a Reply

