India Calling

Remember, send yourself a postcard this time, fo.

It’s official.  Am booked and will be heading back to India in a few weeks.  Ahmedabad, Gujarat and Mumbai this time around. Will fly out the day after the last day of school to first conduct a two-day in school MYP Assessment Workshop in Ahmedabad.  Then I get to visit S in her new home in Mumbai until the tenth of June.  It feels a little overwhelming right now with all the work that still needs to be done before the arrival of May 28 but am optimistic it will  all inevitably fall into place.   Like always.

Anyway, aside from a little healthy anxiety, there’s also the excitement and the feeling of immense gratitude coursing through my veins right now. I’ve said it before, I will say it again.  I am a lucky, well-loved schmuck. To be given these many opportunities to travel, teach, share, learn, experience and visit good friends in different parts of the world, has been a real treat from G who is ever faithful, generous and constant.  Thanks again for this, G.  You must really love S and I.  First, the 8 weeks in New York with my sister in 2009, now ten days in Mumbai!  Win.

There are a lot of plans in place.  A market tour.  The slum tour.  A missions thing. Prayer walks. Working out and running together again and visiting S’s school.  G definitely has big plans.  I am convinced that’s why He is making this happen.  🙂  Right now though, I need to focus on everything that needs to be done:  I have the Poetry Fest on Friday,  papers to mark, report card narratives to write, grades to finalize and workshop preparation to attend to.  It’s going to be a wild ride this May and damn boy, am hanging on real tight! Wohoo!

grateful slice:  traveling, India and awesome, humbling opportunities.

4 comments

    • Ms. P

      Aaww. you would love it, Bob. 🙂 I suggest hit South India if you can. It’s gorgeous. Will let you know what I think of Mumbai and Gujarat.

  1. One Change At A Time

    Hello! I am from Mumbai. Let me wish you a safe flight and a happy, fun-filled trip. I assure you, you will fall in love with Mumbai (as I call it – Bombay). Please do write about your experiences there. I would love to see a fresh and different perspective from a foreigner. 🙂

    Also, people usually are overly cautious about health in India and sometimes that prevents them from enjoying their time there. I will only say that avoid drinking random water. Stick to either home water (which is filtered and/or boiled) or bottled water. Other than that, have fun on your trip. I am assuming you will post a lot of pictures as you are also a photographer.

    • Ms. P

      Thank you for your comment.
      Am so excited for this trip. I really loved South India so am looking forward to seeing a different part this time. Thank you for the well wishes, advice too and yes, will upload a ton of pictures for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

