2 Songs and Perfection

Leaving  in two hours and two songs are playing in my head.

This one by Pink.  🙂  Every time I hear, think about, or sing it…I will think of some of the most special people on the planet.  Thanks for that, 8s.   It really made a bittersweet night, sweeter.   A thousand times over, thanks.

And this other one written by Joey Tandem.   I will put the lyrics up here.  He says he will write a post about it when he records it soon. 🙂

This Much I Know

I watch you twenty years from where I stand

I know you’ll be old enough to understand

These things by then

By then

I want you to be the shining light of truth

I’ll hold you a burning torch against the gloom

Light shining through

Bright are you

The world won’t always be a friendly place

You fear you’re running out of dreams to chase

But don’t you worry now

It all works out somehow

In time

Because tonight you don’t have to be that strong

You can smile and just embrace who you’ve become

It’s alright to live for now ‘cause you’re still young

Just for tonight

Just for tonight

I’ll see you when you walk out into the world

And I’ll hear you speak the words right from your soul

This much I know

Oh I’m sure

The world may say that it’s all up to chance

I know it’s hard to keep your confidence

But set your mind at ease

And in your heart find peace

This time

Because tonight you don’t have to be that strong

You can dance like tomorrow never comes

It’s alright to forget about the world

Just for tonight

For tonight

Someday you’ll need to keep those dreams alive

Someday you’ll need to keep hope burning bright

Today a frozen moment in your life

To stay this way for one last time

At times you’ll fall and find no helping hand

You’ll feel so lost and nothing’s making sense

But you won’t ever be alone

Because there’s this place you know

This is home

Because tonight you are here where you belong

Close your eyes and take flight to the skies above

There’s no price to pay for freedom and for love

Just for tonight

For tonight

(Because tonight you don’t have to be that strong)

You know you don’t have to be that strong

(You can smile and just embrace who you’ve become)

Just embrace the person you’ve become

(It’s alright to) live for now ‘cause you’re still young

Set your mind at ease

And in your heart find peace tonight

I’ll see you

Soon enough we’ll meet again

I know you’ve learned enough to understand

This is not the end

Off to finish up packing for my two week adventure in India.  Goodbye school year 2010-2011.  You were interesting, annoying, challenging, hilarious and life giving all at the same time.  Here’s to fresh perspectives and fixing my gaze on what truly matters,  a much needed change of scenery, hanging out with one of my  best friends and doing something I love on the first few days of summer  — couldn’t think of a better way to kick off  our  break.    Thanks, G.

grateful slice:  endings and new beginnings

4 comments

  1. Pingback: This Much Is Done « Excess Bloggage

Leave a Reply

