Weekly Photo Challenge: Worn


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All photos taken with a Nikon D90.  Western Railway, Haji Ali Shrine and Bandra Fort, Mumbai.

A Well-Worn Story

In April, in April, 
My one love came along, 
And I ran the slope of my high hill 
To follow a thread of song. 

His eyes were hard as porphyry 
With looking on cruel lands; 
His voice went slipping over me 
Like terrible silver hands. 

Together we trod the secret lane 
And walked the muttering town. 
I wore my heart like a wet, red stain 
On the breast of a velvet gown. 

In April, in April, 
My love went whistling by, 
And I stumbled here to my high hill 
Along the way of a lie. 

Now what should I do in this place 
But sit and count the chimes, 
And splash cold water on my face 
And spoil a page with rhymes?

a poem by Dorothy Parker

 

grateful slice:  history/ies and surviving to tell the tale

Leave a Reply

