Ode to a mentor and on being inspired

I’ve been teaching at the same school for almost seven years now and these have been some of the best years of my life/teaching career.  Almost everything I know about being a teacher I learned from being at this school and because of that there is little I wouldn’t do for it.   It’s not perfect, mind you, but the people there are like family and the school, like a second home.

My second home for the past six (going on seven) years

So when I was told late last school year that I was going to get to work with MM to do the MYP Induction Workshop for the new teachers this coming school year, I was like, ohhhh yeee-aaah.  I thought, what a great way to give back again; to pay it forward. It also felt awesome to be given another chance to do the same workshop better (last year I was able to co-lead it with our headmaster, PR, which was cool but erm, it was far from ideal); plus wow, to be able to work closely with MM again on something we both feel passionate about, a real honor.

Actually, after analyzing the long and short of it, I just really missed her.  I mean sure we would see her during Parent Teacher Conferences (for T her son who was my student for two years and already graduated from Middle School) or share laughs and recycled jokes during the occasional reunion lunch or “sorryfood” dinner but it just wasn’t the same as seeing each other and being hams every single day.  She was my first friend at Beacon, the first person I bugged every hour for an entire term when I was leading the Night of the Notables project during my first year as a Grade 6 teacher and she was  the one I cried to with no shame when I wasn’t sure what the hell I was doing.  She tells the best stories, recommends the best books and laughs at my dumbest jokes.  She was also my MYP coordinator for three years and I miss her guidance and mentoring to bits.  From her wisdom, her counsel, her quick wit and sage advice, it meant a lot that she believed in me even when I was not sure how to believe in myself.

Early last year, we were fortunate enough to land a stint as workshop leaders in the same place (the IB regional workshop in Adelaide) and between the many layovers in  what seemed like a million airports from Manila to Australia, she told me exactly what I needed to hear right when I needed to hear it.  You know, like the oracle in The Matrix, but a younger and more fash-yon version.  LOL.  (She can knit like a ninja too.)

At a tapas bar with Amelie, Grant and Ros in between workshop days, Adelaide, Jan 2010.

This is MM.  We were being silly tourists trying to take a cheeky shot of someone to show the sorryfood peeps – inappropriate butt shot of man not here.  Adelaide, Jan 2010.

Anyway, she moved to teach at the high school last year and boy, did we all feel her absence in our telephone booth  cum faculty lounge. I know. I know.  Change is a good thing. But some of us have a slower pace at letting reality sink in.  We all process change differently.  And I had to go through many things before getting closer to fine. 🙂

So yeah, definitely, it was a real treat to be able to work with her at the tail end of the summer right before the teachers needed to come for in-service.  I learned so many things as we planned and collaborated, got to share and be inspired while co-teaching with one of the smartest teachers, I know.  It felt good to see how we’ve both grown so much in many ways and man, great to know that some things remain the same — like the ability to laugh at really inane things until we’re tearing and to make inappropriate comments with gumption, usually in faculty lounges. Apir.

I took a lot of photos along the way via Instagram. Here they are.  Goodbyes come in many forms and  I just don’t want to miss a thing.

Tired planning feet. Another productive day at the Beacon Academy

Taking a break

 

Planning and collaborating for weeks. This is Version 1 of 8 of our MYP Workshop planner

The sibling programs : BA’s session on the programme continuum and me being epal

Student work framed for the faculty lounge @BA; Road trip down South to get the juices flowing.  MM wasn’t even there.  

View from the Beacon Academy, 2nd floor.  Took this right before going back to working on our keynote

Sometimes we left early. 🙂  

Road trip shot with Laoshi. Tiltshift addiction

One time we left VERY late.  I have an effing picture of the moon!  

Finally, it was day one. Started with this: No such things as dumb questions

The Inquiry Cycle through their eyes. A few sessions in

Their version of the Inquiry Cycle … post watching the Fairy Scientist

On the second day, MM and I cam whored while they worked.

Tired workshop feet; vowed not to wear heels for day 3

Which brings us here, all questions addressed and on the highway. End of day 3

I will miss working on our workshop in BA.  Fresh air, the quiet and the calming drive there

 So again, here’s to a new school year.  I claim your greatness.   And finally, here’s to awesome begins and slow goodbyes. I wouldn’t have it any other way.
 
 
i thank You God for most this amazing 
by ee cummings (1894-1963)

i thank You God for most this amazing day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today, and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing breathing any–lifted from the no of all nothing–human merely being doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

grateful slice:  mentors, a successful workshop, learning and the friends we make along the way

6 comments

    • Ms. P

      Thanks, love. It is truly a wonderful vocation. I feel really blessed. Thanks for passing by. Hugs! Come back again soon.

  1. Ms. P

    Hahaha. Super! But seriously, thanks for the prayers. The workshop went splendidly as far as I know and working together was just awesome sauce. I will miss her to bits talaga. 🙂 ORACLE ang lola mo.

  2. Pingback: Ode Em Gee: The countdown continues « You are Here.

Leave a Reply

