How I Learned to Love 2011

What’s not to love about 2011?

Well, a lot apparently. From all the natural calamities, world tragedies, economic upheaval, sudden inexplicable deaths, and everyone’s personal ups and downs, sometimes I wonder how people still get up in the morning.  In the end, clenched fist in the air, it was easy to bid such a challenging year goodbye.  Having said that though, even with all of 2011’s warts and boils, it was still a year of unforgettable extremes and profound lessons.  Some of the best years of our lives are built with pillars of deep suffering and joy beyond all understanding.  And this is what this year has been about for me. Extremes. Maximum everything. No holds barred emotional roller coaster ride with the sharp turns, gut wrenching dips, ear piercing shrieks and white knuckles. Admittedly, there are some things I wish didn’t happen this year – people getting hurt unnecessarily, for example – but I believe that everything happens for a reason. So with that, I celebrate it  ALL today (narrowed down to 10 life-giving things). The good, the bad and the ugly. I figure once everything is put into perspective, it all turns to good.  So, thank you, 2011, for these 10 things and what I took away from them.  No matter how bizarre you were, it started and ended with a grateful heart.  Here goes…

I was able to travel quite a bit this year, so I am stoked about that: Here are some links to entries connected to my 2011 adventures.  SagadaIndia (Tamil Nadu)India (Mumbai and Ahmedabad)Boracay (with tFTs), Adelaide, Hong Kong (with family) and most recently, Singapore.

 


So happy I was freshly pressed twice last year! 🙂

Finally, with that, goodbye, 2011. I am grateful for you but I bid you farewell as you clumsily ride off into the sunset.  Now hello there, 2012. So glad you could make it. Stay awhile and be nice.

How about you? How much did you love 2011?

grateful slice:  learning from a complicated year

4 comments

  1. Jitendra Pandey

    Paula, Paula Paula. Every time I read your blog I become a bigger fan of yours. It is so amazing to see and read, what you do. Your blogs and photographs basically makes me feel that I see you everyday. Well 2011 has been a roller coster for me as well. Getting divorced. Becoming the MYP Coordinator(a job that I always dreamt of). Struggling with Household Chores( Trust me they can be a pain.). There were moments when I used to think that life is such a mess. Where am I heading? Is it worth? But when I looked at things with a new lens, with a calm mind. I just got one answer that life is beautiful and the world is wonderful. Its just the way we look at it. Meeting so many wonderful people at TED made me love life more. Well 2011 was also special to me because I got a wonderful friend like you. All the help you have provided [(and I am sure will provide ;-)] has been a great support. Its so good to feel that I have a friend in some corner of this world with whom I can connect well. Who is as passionate about education as I am. Who always tells me what to read. Who always inspires me to write. Thanks for being such a wonderful friend.
    May You have a wonderful 2012. Well here is a little wish, which I read somewhere long back.

    May God grant you always…A sunbeam to warm you, a moonbeam to charm you, a sheltering Angel so nothing can harm you. Laughter to cheer you. Faithful friends near you. And whenever you pray, Heaven to hear you.”

    • Ms. P

      Hi Jiten,
      Love what you said about looking at things through a different lens and with a calm mind…wonderful! Because that’s the trick, isn’t it? Perspective. Am so glad you continue to love life and appreciate the best parts about it. Just remember to rest! You work too hard and too much! (I am saying this to myself too) Thanks so much for the kind words and your prayer. And for passing by often. I really appreciate the love and support. I am also really grateful for our friendship and I hope nothing but the best for you this 2012. Take care and talk soon.

    • Ms. P

      Hi Jabiz! Thanks for passing by and letting me know you were here. #mademyday 🙂 Hope the jetlag leaves your household soon. See you on the grid. Take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

